30-Day Vehicle Impound Program
In 1995, the State Legislature enacted the Safe Streets Act. Vehicle Code section 14602.6 was added to allow police officers to impound a vehicle being operated by any person driving without ever having been issued a license, or anyone driving with a suspended/revoked driver's license.
Based on Department of Motor Vehicle data, it is apparent that the growing number of persons operating vehicles illegally is a significant factor in the number of injury and fatal traffic collisions that occur annually in California.
- 4,000 persons are killed in traffic collisions in California annually, and another 330,000 persons suffer injury.
- Of all drivers involved in injury and fatal traffic collisions, more than 20% are not licensed to drive.
- A driver with a suspended license is four times as likely to be involved in a fatal accident as a properly licensed driver.
- DMV estimates that of the 20 million drivers licenses issued in California, 720,000 are suspended/revoked, and 1 million people are driving without ever having been issued a license.
In May of 1999, the Claremont Police Department implemented a Vehicle Impound Program (VIP) to address the increasing number of persons operating vehicles, who have never been licensed or whose driver license is suspended/revoked.
The vehicle of an unlicensed, suspended or revoked driver is impounded for a period of 30 days in addition to any court actions that may be taken against the driver. In order to secure the release of the vehicle once the 30 days is up, the registered owner or their agent must pay all fees associated with the impound and show a valid California drivers license.
Impounded Vehicle Information
Vehicles stored on a 30-day impound are stored at the Claremont Police Department storage facility. Vehicles stored on a 30-day impound are available for release 7 days a week from 8 a.m. - 5 p.m. only. A 30-Day Vehicle Impound (recorded) information line is available 24 hours a day at 909-399-5400.
Personal or company checks are not accepted. Impound fees must be paid by cash, money order, cashier's check, or Visa/MasterCard. Registered and legal owners of vehicles may request a post-storage hearing in accordance with 22650, 22852, and 14602.6 of the Vehicle Code.
Reasons for Release of Vehicles in Less than 30 Days (14602.6(d)(1) V.C.):
- The impoundment of the vehicle was invalid
- Vehicle stolen
- Vehicle is subject to bailment and is driven by an unlicensed employee of a business
- When the license of the driver was suspended or revoked for an offense other than those specified in 14602.6(f) V.C.
- When the driver reinstates his or her driver's license or acquires a driver's license and proper insurance
Shall release vehicle in less than 30 days if (14602.6(f) V.C.): the legal owner is a motor vehicle dealer, bank, credit union, or other licensed financial institution, or another person, not the registered owner, holding a security interest in the vehicle.
The legal owner/agent presents foreclosure documents or affidavit of repossession for the vehicle (do not have to be original documents). (No lien sale fee will be assessed if vehicle is redeemed prior to the 15th day of impoundment.)
All post-storage hearings must be made in person at the Claremont Police Department. Click here for related fees.
Public Auction of Unclaimed Impounded Vehicles
Vehicles of unlicensed, suspended or revoked drivers are impounded for at least 30 days. Any unclaimed vehicles are subsequently sold at auction to recover costs associated with the impound (per California Government Code sections 3071 & 3072).
Claremont Police Department has replaced its on-site auction method with an internet auction platform powered by PublicSurplus®. To view current and past auction items, please visit the link below.